Skip to main content
Back to top
Speaker Photo
Yiannis Dragasakis
Deputy Prime Minister (2015-2019); Member, Hellenic Parliament

Yannis Dragasakis is the Deputy Prime Minister of the Hellenic Republic and MP (State Deputy) for SYRIZA. Mr. Dragasakis was elected MP for the first time in the November 1989 General Elections (Constituency of Chania) and was appointed Deputy Minister of Finance, a position he held through April 1990. Thereafter, he was elected MP for the Second Constituency of Athens in 1996, 2004, 2007, 2012 and 2015 (January). From June 2012 to December 2014 Yannis Dragasakis served as 4th Deputy Speaker of the Hellenic Parliament. He also represented Greece as Member of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe, while he chaired the sub-Committee on the European Social Charter. Yannis Dragasakis has studied Politics and Economics in Greece and abroad. As a student he was an active member of the anti-Junta movement.